Pereinion a Storïau Hen Ferch

By Jane Ann Jones Edited by Cathryn A. Charnell-White
Clasuron Honno, Fiction, Llyfrau Cymraeg / Welsh Books, Novels, Short Stories



Pererinion is an autobiographical novella that focuses on three nameless pilgrims – y Ferch, y Dyn, a’r Wraig (the Girl, the Man and the Wife) and the adulterous relationship between the Girl and the Man. In scenes that come and go between the past and the present, the main character works through her grief for a relationship with a married man and their deceased child.

The original typescript was sent to Jane Ann Jones's former lover (‘the Man’) which he then threw in the fire. However, sharing her experience was so important to her that she re-wrote it form memory, finishing the work by June 1944 and pubished for the first time on the centenery of Jane Ann Jones’ birth.

Storiau Hen Ferch (1937) highlights the characters’ aspirations and motives through satirical and wry humour. We see how blind self deception is and how easily unintentional misunderstandings can turn into tragedy. Most of her characters are women who challenge conventions, just as she herself did: adulterous women, unmarried women, creative women and women under oppression from a father or husband. Jane Ann Jones is at her best when exploring people’s relationships with each other and analysing her character’s motives and psychology in a very subtle manner.

Louie Myfanwy Davies (Jane Ann Jones, 1908-68) was raised in Rhuddlan, lived in Rhuthun and worked as a clerk in Denbeighshire’s Education Department before being apointed a personal secretary to the Director for Education. She wrote short stories and novels, publishing Y Bryniau Pell (1949) and Diwrnod yw ein Bywyd (1953), as well as two novels for children.

This new redaction includes a biographical introduction by Nan Griffiths and a literary introduction by Cathryn A. Charnell-White.

Foreword: Nan Griffiths ISBN: 9781870206990 Language: Welsh Categories: Clasuron Honno, Fiction, Llyfrau Cymraeg / Welsh Books, Novels, Short Stories First Published by Honno: 31st October 2008

You might also like...

The Heart Stone
(Judith Barrow)


Cambrian Pictures
(Ann Julia Hatton)


The Queen of Romance
(Liz Jones)


(Jane Fraser)